Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
OLD 55

GOLDEN OLDIES TOP 40s # 1-10

Recommended Posts

No more voters overnight ? Never mind.

I'll keep voting open for another couple of days just in case, and post the new Top 40 around Noon Saturday, Melbourne time. The times in each of the 4 Cities shown in the Forum Index as I make this Post is now -

Los Angeles: 3.35 p.m. Wednesday

New York: 6.35 p.m. W.

London: 11.35 p.m. W.

Melbourne: 10.35 a.m. Thursday

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because my aunt -back in the early sixties- had some LPs of Percy Faith & his Orchestra, I remember the name and the face... not the same picture but very similar...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have a good memory. :thumbsup:

Besides having his first #1 with 'Delicado' in 1952, he also had 2 accredited Million Sellers with 'The Song From Moulin Rouge (Where Is Your Heart)' -Felicia Sanders vocal- in 1953 and " The Theme From A Summer Place' in 1960. Two Movie themes, which I know will interest Canam. And he was also born in Canada !

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Arlene Dahl ! She posed "semi nude" (whatever that means - topless ?) for Playboy Magazine three years later. "Journey To The Center Of The Earth" was of course remade last year. I haven't seen the new one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Very Good Martin ! :) I like the 'Great Minds' bit. ;)

But I have about as much of an idea of who your pic is as you probably do of mine ! I used to feature these Quizpics when I ran my Quiz, before you joined I think.

I hope your thread goes really well. I'll drop in and see if I know any from time to time. Cheers Mate.

:headphones:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nice tries Lars and Elena, but he was more of a Rocker than Nat or JM.

Not as full on as, say, Little Richard though. But who was ? :)

To the best of my knowledge he's still alive - a few months older than me.

Goodnight All. :headphones:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't like much Pat Boone as a singer but he was my hero in that Jules Verne movie. :)

5684.jpg

In 1959 I was 11 so I didn't notice the girl!

Pat Boone was even worse in the 1990's as a Metal singer...

In_a_Metal_Mood_No_More_Mr__Nice_Gu.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry ladies, not those three. :P

I don't really know much about him except musically. I checked and he is still alive - he's only 68 for goodness sake.

He had other minor hits (one more Top Ten), but the song he's best remembered for has been successfully covered by others, including The Beach Boys. But the original has bongos.

:)

Pat Boom Metal ??? He must have been on hard times.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...